Burgundy Still My Favorite!

February 20, 2013

I have been kind of excited about learning about wines from Bordeaux lately. Tonight I was having chicken for dinner, and decided to try a French Pinot Noir (my old favorite).  I don’t know if there is a rule about calling a French Pinot Noir “Pinot Noir” or “Burgundy”, but I learned that “Pinot Noir” is the same as “Burgundy” in France. Anyway, my wine choise of the evening was a 2010 FAT bastard Pinot Noir. And again…. this is still my favorite region. A little fuller bodied than the previous Burgundy’s that I’ve tried, cherries, round and paired very well with my chicken dinner.

Reading the label, it sais that the two friends ( one British and one French ) created FAT bastard almost by accident. I must say an experiment that turned out very well. Looking forward to try more FAT bastard wines. Also the first French wine with a screw cork!

Tonight’s dinner – grilled chicken ( on the George Forman of course, love that grill, it’s the only way I can cook chicken without making it dry ) with a Dijon mustard sauce, and quinoa. Tried a different recipe for the sauce, warm this time, and it came out awesome. Who knew I could cook?

Think I’m gonna treat myself to another glass of this delicious juice while awaiting a new episode of my favorite show ( Criminal Minds ). Cheers!

photo (71)

7 Responses to “Burgundy Still My Favorite!”


  1. I hate to break it to you, but the Fat Bastard Pinot is not from Burgundy. It is likely from the South of France somewhere or even Corsica. Burgundy Pinot is far too expensive. Great write-up regardless!


    • Oops, thank’s for telling me. See I’m learning something new everyday lol. Ok, I think I understand now, and please correct me if I”m wrong again, a Pinot Noir from anywhere outside Burgundy France is a Pinot Noir. I guess I took for granted that since it was from France it had to be a Burgundy. One thing is for sure…it’s delicious!


  2. I don’t think I knew that a Burgundy and a Pinot Noir were the same wine. Thanks for the info!

Leave a comment