There’s An App For That!

August 8, 2013

I believe I got my first cell phone around 1997, and the only thing I could do with it was make and receive phone calls. The next one was a little smaller in size, but had some games, and it was the start of the “texting era”. The phone I have now, is probably twice the size of that phone, but I wont even try to list all the things it can do. It is officially the “smart-phone era”. It seems to be a downloadable app for everything you could think of. My latest download was a wine app. It is the coolest thing….I scan (take a picture) a wine label, and the app gives me all kinds of info on that wine; price, grapes, winery, where I can by it, and tasting notes. It has become my new favorite toy. I can also put in my own tasting notes, and rank the wines, wich is very helpful when I’m going to write about the wine later.

It has been a very good wine week that started with a 2011 Bogle Pinot Noir that was enjoyed with bbq ribs. I paid around $10 for this bottle, and it was a big hit. Very nice and smooth, with cherries on the palate and an earthy finish. I gave this wine a 3.5.

photo (165)

The very next day we uncorked a bottle of 2012 Paul Durdilly Beaujolais, from Burgundy France. It is not often that I’m able to find a Burgundy for around $10, so I was excited to try this one. What a find! Very fruity with lots of cherries, absolutely delicious, and earned 4 stars from me.

Yesterday I opened a bottle of 2010 Fetzer Crimson Red Blend, from Dennis Martin. I really enjoyed this wine, it’s a bit sweet, with a lot of spice and plum. A great sipping wine that I ranked 3.5.

photo (166)

What a great week, and it’s only Thursday…I’m really looking forward to a wine tasting on Sunday, it should finish off the week perfectly. Life is great, Cheers!

Leave a comment