My Very First “Gluten Free” Beer!

February 10, 2014

I know…this is supposed to be a wine blog, but I just had to vent about yesterday’s experiense. Since I went “gluten-free” about 6 months ago, I haven’t had a single beer, not even a drop, until yesterday afternoon. I was spending the day in New Brunswick, a college town about 30-40 minutes away, and they have a few good restaurants and bars. We ended up checking out a bar called “World of Beer”, thinking they might have some fun beers for my friend to try, and in the back of my mind I was hoping to get to try a gluten-free beer.

They actually had 4 or 5 different gluten-free beers. I chose to try one that they said tasted like regular beer, with no special flavor ( I don’t like the idea of my beer tasting like a fruit, beer should taste like beer…), so I ended up with Omission Lager. This beer is made of barley, but has been crafted to remove gluten. It is an easy-drinking light beer, and if I didn’t know that this was a gluten-free beer, I would have never guessed it. It tasted so good, I was amazed. No reason not to drink beer no more.

I will not be afraid to try more gluten-free beers, that’s for sure. Cheers!

20140210-210552.jpg

Leave a comment